Pauline Kirk
PJ Quinn

Pauline M Kirk

I also write as 'PJ Quinn', in collaboration with my daughter Jo Summers. Jo challenged me to write a crime novel and, somehow, I ended up writing it with her. The result is a series of detective novels featuring DI Ambrose and Chalk Heath, set in the 1950s, a period of great change that seems like an era ago.

Foul Play is the first novel which was published in June 2011; and Poison Pen in October 2012. Close Disharmony, the third book in the series, was published in 2014. Though planned as a trilogy, such was the demand by readers that a fourth book, Poetic Justice, was published in July 2018.

Many readers have asked about a fifth novel in this series and about developing a series based on the character of WPC Meadows. Jo and I, along with our publisher, are investigating the possibility of either or both of these options. Officially, Foul Play is now out of print but we are discussing with the publisher whether to have a second printing or, possibly, publish a ‘director’s cut’ folding in our experience writing the later novels and adding a scene or two.

More information about Launch events can be found on the PJ Quinn web pages

Foul Play Cover

Poison Pen Cover

Close Disharmony Cover 3

Cover Poetic Justice

Online Bookshop

The DI Ambrose books are available for purchase in my online Bookshop.
or direct from the publisher’s
web site bookshop.

PJ Quinn on Amazon

The DI Ambrose novels are listed on Amazon

Foul Play: A DI Ambrose Mystery can be found at There are some excellent reviews from Amazon customers on the site.
Poison Pen: A DI Ambrose Mystery, is listed at If you've bought it, and enjoyed it, please add a review of this book too for us.
Close Disharmony: A DI Ambrose Mystery, is at Current reviewers have it flagged as a Great Read and a Real Joy.

By the way, you need the full title to find us, and to search for PJ Quinn rather than Pauline Kirk.


DI Ambrose on eBook



Foul Play



Poison Pen




Web site support by Alan Gillott of Stairwell Books